An Old Poloroid And A Fond Memory


Jeff & Brodie

Originally uploaded by acgeal

This is the first time Brodie was held by his papa after he was born. I still can’t wrap my mind around how tiny he was and how big he is now.

It’s a fond memory with a bit of a sad and happy sting to it. It’s something we never imagined doing as first time parents but we were so enthralled with our little guy and so taken by him that even the sadness of prematurity didn’t and couldn’t take the joy and happiness of him away from us.

I look at this picture and I see a man who hurts for being helpless to help his son but takes solace in the fact that he can comfort him and hold him near – telling him with his presence that “I am here Son, and I always will be”.

Jeff has been a true papa, he loves his kidlets like no other. He doesn’t love me as much as he loves his kidlets (it’s a different love all together and he does love me with all his being). His babies come first before all others including myself and that’s exactly how it should be.

Any man can be a father but it takes a true stand up man to be a papa. I admire a man who can cry when his children cry and laugh when they laugh.

Leave a Reply

