Wedding Ceremony – Expressing Intent & Hand Fastening

The expression of intent
Now just a few questions. First for you Jeff.
Jeff, you have chosen Sheal to be your wife. Will you love and respect
her? Will you be honest with her always? Will you stand by her through
whatever may come? (Answer: ‘I will’)

Sheal, you have chosen Jeff to be your husband. Will you love and
respect him? Will you be honest with him always? Will you stand by him
through whatever may come? (Answer: ‘I will’)

And do you both promise to make the necessary adjustments in your
personal lives in order that you may live in a harmonious relationship
together? (Answer: ‘We do’)

The affirmation of family and friends
Now, in the spirit of joy and affirmation, I want to ask your families
and friends a question:
Do you, the families and friends of Jeff and Sheal, give them your
blessing and support, wishing them a wonderful life together?
(All answer: ‘We do’)

Before Hand Fastening & Vows
Druid’s Blessing

We swear by peace and love to stand,
Heart to heart and hand to hand.
Hark, O Spirit, and hear us now,
Confirming this our Sacred Vow The Exchange of Handfasting & Vows

Father of the Bride reading:

Words of Wisdom on Relationships

Love one another, but make not a bond of love:
Let it rather be a moving sea between the shore of your souls.
Fill each other’s cup but drink not from one cup.
Give one another of your bread but eat not from the same loaf.
Sing and dance together and be joyous, but let each of you be alone.
Even as the strings of a lute are alone though they quiver with the same music.
Give your hearts, but not into each other’s keeping,
For only the hand of Life can contain your hearts.
And stand together yet not too near together:
For the pillars of the temple stand apart,
And the oak tree and the cypress grow not in each other’s shadow.

–Kahlil Gibran

Sheal and Jeff, we now come to your vows. May I remind you that saying
your vows is one thing but nothing is more challenging than living them
day by day. What you promise today must be renewed tomorrow and each day
that stretches out before you.

Please join hands (the left hands). As your hands are joined, so your lives, Holding each
other, Caressing each other, Supporting each other, Loving each other.
(Officiant ties the ribbon around our hands).

Mi\le fa\ilte dhuit le d’bhre/id,
Fad do re/ gun robh thu sla\n.
Mo/ran la\ithean dhuit is si\th,
Le d’mhaitheas is le d’ni\ bhi fa\s.

Translated as (I am not opposed to this being in English rather than Gaelic):

“A thousand welcomes to you with your marriage kerchief, may you be healthy all your days. May you be blessed
with long life and peace, may you grow old with
goodness, and with riches.”

Jeff, please repeat after me:
Today I recognize you, mo anam cara (pronounced: muh ann-imm karrah)
And ask that you become a part of me, in sacred kinship.
With you, I have lost all fear and have found the greatest courage.
I have learned to love and let myself be loved.
With you, I have found a rhythm of grace and gracefulness.
Love has reawakened in my life; a rebirth; a new beginning.
With you mo anam cara,
I am understood,
I am home.

Sheal, please repeat after me:
Today I recognize you, mo anam cara (pronounced: muh ann-imm karrah)
And ask that you become a part of me, in sacred kinship.
With you, I have lost all fear and have found the greatest courage.
I have learned to love and let myself be loved.
With you, I have found a rhythm of grace and gracefulness.
Love has reawakened in my life; a rebirth; a new beginning.
With you mo anam cara,
I am understood,
I am home.

Officiant:
Now raise your hands together, so that all may see.

(Bride & Groom raise their hands.)
Made to measure, wrought to bind,
blessed be, these lives entwined!
What you have here done together with one another, let no one break apart.
May the Goddess and Cernunnos take notice of, and be favorably inclined toward your union, and may you be blessed with health, prosperity and fruitfulness, from this day forth and forevermore.
So mote it be!

Officiant announces to those gathered that we are now bound to each
other. (Removal of the ribbon)

Leave a Reply

