Post Tubal Ligation Syndrome

What is PTLS or post tubal ligation syndrome?

It was a medical term coined by Dr. Vicki Hufnagel and is associated with a plethora of symptoms such as :

  • Castrative Menopause
  • Severe Hormone Imbalance
  • Ovarian Isolation (Post Hysterectomy, Post Tubal Ligation)
  • Atrophic Ovaries
  • Hormone Shock
  • Increased Risk of Heart Disease
  • Bone Loss and Osteoporosis
  • Dysfunctional Uterine Bleeding (DUB)
  • Severe PMS
  • Endometriosis
  • Adenomyosis
  • Severe Pelvic Adhesions
  • Misplacement of Female Organs
  • Decreased Lactating Ability

Quote :

The sudden loss/stoppage of estrogen, hormones, and hormone shock can affect brain function. Confusion, rage, depression, and memory loss that can mimic an alzheimer’s type state can manifest. In addition to these symptoms, women who lose both ovaries, or lose the function of their ovaries also lose the protection these hormones provide against heart disease and osteoporosis many years earlier than if they had experienced natural menopause.

Women who have had their ovaries removed or rendered nonfunctional due to ovarian isolation are seven times more likely to develop coronary heart disease and much more likely to develop bone problems at an early age than are pre-menopausal women whose ovaries are intact and functioning.

The loss of hormones can be equal to and even more damaging with its long term outcome as post tubal syndromes immediate effects of bleeding disorders (DUB) and other sudden symptoms.

Source: http://www.tubal.org/VGHPTS.htm

Since my tubal almost two years ago I’ve noticed issues of rage, depression and fairly bad short term memory loss. Would I do a traditional tubal again, probably not if I had the chance to change it I would. I would have asked if I had known about Essure. It is a procedure that does not require any invasive surgery other than going through the cervix and uterus to place a micro insert that causes the body to grow a blockage around it (skin and scar tissue) so that the eggs from the ovaries cannot pass naturally to the uterus. It takes about 3 months for the Essure to work. You should check out their site and download the pdf for more information. I would rather see my fellow woman take a more natural approach than I did.

http://www.essure.ca/english/consumer_landing.html

I regret the form of tubal ligation I chose but never have regretted the actual tubal. It was medically unsafe for me and a potential baby to go through another pregnancy. I would rather not leave my 5 children without a mother than to have another baby and risk my life and my baby’s life to do so.

Leave a Reply

