Pets, Pain & Behaviours

In the past there have been a plethora of studies on how pets affect our pain tolerance levels. As a fibromyalgia patient I can say these studies are truly on target. My dog is there for me without judgement, without harsh words and with a complete understanding for me.

He doesn’t tire of my constant complaints concerning my daily chronic pain. He’s always there to put his head in my lap and offer up some love whether I am fatigued from my disease, in severe or moderate pain or just having a somewhat sensible day.

It’s not only my disease that my husky will notice either, he knows when I need a nudge on the elbow to say he is there. He knows when one of us is hurting physically or emotionally. When I cry, he lays at my feet and looks up at me patiently waiting for much needed hugs.

Just the other day, my oldest had an accident at a friends house that required stitches. Before those stitches were administered Kemo laid his head in my sons lap to comfort him. My children are very much his babies, his cubs. We are one big pack, taking care of each other and caring for the health of each others emotional well being.

Funny thing is, Kemo was a rescue. I’ve heard so many misconceptions of rescues being dangerous, not fit for family life, not likely to be rehabilitated to society. This is such a shame that so many think on this level. All my life I’ve had a rescue animal out perform a “bought” (sic adopted) animal from pet stores. My Kemo has seen five house holds, we are number five and his forever home. He was branded a problem dog, a dog with behavioural issues – digging, burying, pulling on the leash, blow out shedding and much more.

The problem is, these behaviours are not behavioural issues. These are instinctual to a husky, they are of the Spitz genetic lines. The oldest working dog genetic line. They are bred and built for pulling, digging and burrowing. They pull sleds, they dig to find people that need help, dig to keep warm in arctic temperatures as does their burrowing instincts to keep warm as well. Their coats need brushing every day, they blow out shed twice a year. These are normative issues with the husky breed.

I believe in educated ownership and responsible ownership. I believe we must educate ourselves on our pets to better communicate with them, to take better care of them and to have a healthy relationship with them. Rescues have been both the highlight and sadness of my life. High lighting a great love and respect for such strong and brave animals while being saddened by their plight as a rescue animal.

The pain and suffering of rescue animals is heart breaking. Especially when I know that most rescues, beyond extreme situations, are adoptable and very loving creatures. They all want their forever home, they all want to be loved without judgement and to be understood. We ask for respect, should we not dole out the respect back to those animals out there that love us without condition?

Leave a Reply

