I Am Freelancer

It’s official – I am now a chamber of commerce member or rather my business is a chamber of commerce member. I am starting to pick up work and it turns out I am the only active creative in the community because the other creative is only maintaining the clients she has now. Talk about garner the market and make a niche for myself.

I now have business cards on the way, a new domain and hosting will be up soon (hopefully an end of April launch). I have a new American global client who is always sweet talking me to her connections (her chiro actually). My other American client who is self publishing a non-fiction is coming back into the fold soon as he is now ready to get going with a cover process again. I have a lead within the community through the chamber of commerce and things seem very, very happening.

My business plan with financials and supporting documentation is DONE! Looking good and with cover letter, shipping out my grant proposal this Friday. We’ll see how that goes, I’m excited. Getting somewhere is one of the biggest feelings of accomplishments I’ve ever felt (only second to my children of course). If I, a mom of 5, can do this – anyone else out there who is contemplating doing the same can do this. It’s hard, it’s discouraging at times, it’s frustrating BUT it’s an amazing sense of accomplishment, victory and self satisfaction when things get going! Keep at it my fellow freelancers, keep that chin up and smile – even if you have to grit your teeth while you smile once in awhile.

Leave a Reply

