BH&G Article

Source

THOU SHALT NOT BREAST FEED AT THE TABLE

Yes, I have seen table-side breast feeding at a four-star restaurant. If at all possible, take it to the ladies room. (Note: most upscale restaurants have really nice restrooms!)

Yes, you see that right. That was the part of the article that was removed. It was “The 10 commandments of dining out” but now has been reduced to 9. The responses in the comments section overwhelmingly support NIP (nursing in public). I find the whole article disturbing and quite archaic in thinking myself but the nursing in public bit really gets to me. It’s quite painfully obvious that this person has no idea what it’s like to be a parent, she’s self admitted to not being one and it seems she is one of those “kid free” types that is on the rude and arrogant side of the spectrum of “kid free” types.

As you all know I have 5 children, I’ve always gotten great feedback about my kids being well behaved at any restaurant or outing I’ve taken them to. I always get compliments about their good behavior, even the special needs kids get compliments in public. We’re out and about with them everywhere. As for strollers, I don’t really use them all that much and preferred to sling or carry my babies and toddlers so the stroller bit is a moot point for me. Honestly, BH&G really dropped the ball on this one and should remove the whole article, the damage is already done for them though. I still can’t get over how the editors missed how this would be reacted to by the parenting and family communities.

One Response to “BH&G Article”

  1. ladylioness27 Says:

    That’s craziness. I’ve been to ONE nice restaurant that had a couch in the bathroom. But think about that even. How many ladies sat on that couch before remembering to wash their hands?

    Gross. Maybe someone should suggest she take HER dinner into the bathroom!

Leave a Reply

